A thankful reminder

I just wanted to make a quick post to say how thankful I am for my family and friends that are living.  I mean the ones that are physically still alive. I get so wrapped up in me, me, me and what I am and what I want to do, that I don’t stop and reflect on all of them, who they are, what they mean to me, and how they have helped shape me into who I am today.  I am thankful for their acceptance of me and their understanding of my goals and dreams for my life. 

The reason I am posting this is because I talked to someone today who was talking about her family and past as we got to know each other.  I talked about my siblings, how many of us there are, and where I grew up.  As she shared her story with me, I stopped to clarify that there were four siblings in her family, and very casually said well there were four of us, but my oldest sister died in a car crash, so now there’s three.  And then she carried on her conversation with me.  And it didn’t seem like she moved away from that statement because she was upset, flustered or was wanting to change the subject.  That didn’t seem like it at all. She seemed at peace with it and had in a sense “moved on,”  although I am sure you never truly move away from something that deep and hurtful ever.  I don’t know this person very well, so she may have been masking her pain and putting up a front with me right now because she doesn’t know me that well yet.  But, I feel I can get a pretty good gauge on people fairly soon after meeting them, and she seemed like saying “my sister died in a car crash,” was easy to say in a sense.  I can’t even imagine saying something like that, let alone thinking it…having that happen in my life…feeling that.  I have been so fortunate in my life to have not lost someone very very close to me.  I have lost both my grandparents on my dad side and that was the hardest lose our family has faced so far.  I still miss them everyday.  I see them more and more in my dad as I get older and as my dad gets older.  I know feeling pain and losing loved ones is a part of life.  It keeps us human.  It has to happen.  We need to feel things.  

But what I want to say now, and how I want to end this is by saying that I am truly thankful for those loved ones I still have in my life and I will remember this person I met today when I start to take them for granted.  God brings people in and out of our lives for a reason at exactly the time he means.  Make sure you tell your family and friends how much you love them today and everyday.    

Leave a Reply

